German Bach elected new IOC President to the year 2021




CRI Online:  According to the Xinhua news agency, Thomas Bach of Germany was elected by a large majority as the ninth President of the International Olympic Committee following two rounds of votes at the 125th IOC Session in Buenos Aires, Argentina. His 8-year tenure will extend until 2021. Six candidates include President Bach, Sergey Bubka, President of the Ukraine National Olympic Committee and famous pole vaulter, Vice IOC President Ser Miang Ng of Singapore, IOC Member Richard Carrion of Puerto Rico, Denis Oswald of Switzerland, President of the International Rowing Federation, and Ching-kuo Wu of Chinese Taipei, IOC Executive Board Member.

The IOC President is elected by the IOC members by secret ballot for a term of eight years, with the possibility to stand for re-election for a second, four-year term. The eighth President, Belgian Jacques Rogge, started his term from July 2001; his 12-year tenure officially ended at the close of the 125th IOC Session.


Olympic City

© Copyright 2020. All rights reserved

Beijing Olympic City Development Association.All rights reserved.Beijing ICP 11016671 No.